Polaroid Magic in my Mailbox

Stefan Merz, who I was fortunate enough to develop an on-going communication with through The Polavoid, sent me the perfect “gift that keeps on giving.” Polaroid film, of course. Wonderfully expired, and wonderfully stored and cared for. Film, especially difficult to find well-cared for expired Polaroid film is “the gift that keeps on giving,” because of the years of enjoyment I will have looking back on these photos, long after they have been shot. I wanted to share some examples that I took with this amazing assortment of film.

These first photos are from Polaroid 600 film that expired in 2009, shot with my Polaroid SX-70.

'09 expired Polaroid 600 film'09 expired Polaroid 600 film'09 expired Polaroid 600 film'09 expired Polaroid 600 film'09 expired Polaroid 600 film

cryiingMirror'09 expired Polaroid 600 film'09 expired Polaroid 600 film / diptych

I used a close up lens for many of these shots, and these last two that I made a diptych out of are the only ones that had even a small section that did not develop. I love each and every one of these shots!

Very few people these days are willing to participate in “snail mail” at all, so I am all the more thankful and blown away by Stefan’s kindness. Stay tuned to see example shots from the pack of Paul Giambara Artistic TZ that accompanied these packs of film. For now, I will just say that it was a pack of pure magic!

Leave a Reply

